The Monroe County’s Department of Environmental Services (DES) and the towns of Perinton and Pittsford and the villages of Pittsford, East Rochester and Fairport have collaborated to hold a free household hazardous waste (HHW), paper shredding and electronics collection day on Saturday, May 19.

The event will be held from 7:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Perinton Highway Garage at 100 Cobbs Lane, in Perinton.

Appointments are required for the HHW collection, but are not required for electronics recycling. Perinton and Fairport residents should call 223-5115, and Pittsford and East Rochester residents can call 248-6250 to make appointments.

This collection is open to all Monroe County residents and appointments can be made online by clicking here. Appointments will be accepted until Friday, May 18.

Most household hazardous waste (including paint, flammables and other home chemicals) is safe when used and properly stored. These household wastes are potential environmental hazards when unwanted and improperly disposed. Up to 30 gallons of the following materials will be accepted at no charge:

• Oil-based and latex paint
• Wood stain and preservatives
• Automotive fluids and driveway sealers
• Flammable products and solvents
• Household chemicals and pool & photo chemicals
• Compact fluorescent light bulbs and straight fluorescent bulbs
• Rechargeable (Ni-Cad) and button batteries
• Thermometers and thermostats
• Syringes and sharps (must be safely packaged and labeled)

Motor oil, vehicle batteries, propane tanks, empty containers, everyday batteries and spackle and joint compounds will not be accepted.

Unacceptable items: used motor oil & vehicle batteries (contact service station or retailer); Pharmaceutical Wastes, Propane tanks (permanent HHW facility only); cans with dried latex paint – if latex pain is dried place in regular trash with the lid off; empty containers (place in trash or recycle bin); everyday alkaline batteries (place in trash bin); glazing/spackle & joint compounds (place in trash bin).

Old computers, electronic equipment and paper shredding will also be accepted at this collection site only.

The following electronics will be accepted:

• Televisions/computer monitors
• Microwaves
• Computers and laptops
• Modems, servers and peripherals
• GPS units and cell phones
• Fax machines and copiers
• CD players and IT equipment
• Audio/visual and telecommunications equipment

“By keeping electronics out of our landfills, Monroe County is able to make our community more ‘green’ and ensure the sustainability of our environment for future generations,” said County Executive Maggie Brooks.

For more information on additional HHW collections throughout Monroe County, residents are asked to call DES at 753-7600 (option #3) or click here.