Monroe County Medical Society recently welcomed newly elected officers at its 196th annual meeting.
Peter Ronchetti was elected president for 2017-18. Ronchetti has practiced in the Rochester area for 15 years, specializing in surgery of the hand and upper extremity. He works at Hand Surgery Associates of Rochester and is a clinical assistant professor of orthopaedics at University of Rochester.
Ronchetti is a member of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand. He has been a MCMS member since 2002.
His goals for 2017-18 include advocating for MCMS physicians and their patients both locally and in Albany, reinforcing the value MCMS provides to the physician community and developing and implementing a physician wellness program that includes resources to provide support to the physicians in the community and ways to ensure that any physician can get the help the need while removing barriers associated with accessing mental health care.
“We can influence payers, hospitals and governing bodies by continuing to meet regularly with leadership of all of the key stakeholders in our community to ensure your voice is heard,” Ronchetti said. “Providing an avenue for physicians to get assistance for their own wellness will be a top priority as well as fostering communication and continuing to meet the needs of medical practices.”
Executive committee members include President-elect Surinder Devgun, of Rochester Gastroenterology Associates LLP; secretary Lisa Smith, of Ridgewood Med-Peds; treasurer Edith Grannum, of The Family Medicine Practice of Edith Grannum; member-at-large Wallace Johnson, of University of Rochester Center for Primary Care; member-at-large Stephanie Siegrist, of Stephanie E. Siegrist MD LLC; and immediate past President Steven Ognibene, of Rochester Colon and Rectal Surgeons PC.
Edward Tanner, of Monroe County, was elected president of Medical Society of the State of New York’s Seventh District Branch. Steuben County’s Werner Brammer was elected first vice president and Daniel Koretz, of Wayne County was elected secretary and treasurer.
Matthew Fleig, Wade Hedegard, Shylasree Krishnan, Sam Sbitany, Christine Stewart and Jerry Svoboda were elected to the 2017-18 board of censors.
The MSSNY delegates for 2017-18 are Janine Fogarty, Tarun Kothari, Raymond Lanzafame and John McIntyre.
Four local doctors were elected to be 2017-2018 hospital representatives: James Haley, of Unity Hospital; Robert Kerper, of Strong Memorial Hospital; Alexander Strasser, of Highland Hospital; and Derek J. tenHoopen, of Rochester General Hospital.
For information, visit