The STEP Council of the Genesee Region, an organization founded by physicians who volunteered to train ambulance workers that now trains emergency medical services personnel, recently was recognized for 50 years of service by Monroe County Executive Cheryl Dinolfo.
The group also serves as an advocate for EMS improvements.
“STEP, originally known as the Study of Trauma and Emergencies Project of the Genesee Valley Medical Foundation, has been an unmatched leader in emergency and educational services,” Dinolfo said. “STEP developed the first ambulance record for patient information, initiated the development of a regional EMS center for training and resources and helped create the position of EMS medical director for Monroe County.”
STEP leads Greater Rochester’s EMS efforts through the publication of an online emergency services directory and courses for ambulance personnel, firefighters, first responders, medical students, physicians and dentists.
“There are improvements each year in EMS knowledge, techniques, equipment, medications and teaching modalities that are vital for first responders,” said David Kluge, co-founder. “STEP is grateful for the continuing support and interest from each of our constituencies as they provide the best possible emergency care in our Finger Lakes region.”
One of STEP’s major projects was the development of the EMS directory. The first edition published in 1993 listed basic information about each component of the EMS system. It has served as a reference document for EMS providers and related organizations in Monroe and Livingston counties. The directory also provides EMS statistics for research and planning.
STEP recently took the directory to the next stage in partnership with Rochester Institute of Technology’s B. Thomas Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences by placing it online. The current project is expanding the directory to all aspects of emergency service and the state. It currently lists more than 5,000 emergency organizations.
STEP’s officers for 2017 are SueAnn Casper, president; Sharon Chiumento, vice president; Melodie Kolmetz, secretary; Hugh Franklin, treasurer; Aaron Horowitz, assistant treasurer; and board members Barbara Ackroyd, Thomas Bonfiglio, Raymond Casper, Sue Chalupa-Breese, Robert Faugh, Kluge and Michael Pollock.
“Having been involved with the STEP organization for a number of years, I have seen it grow and respond to the needs of the emergency responders, whether it is fire, EMS or other public safety individuals,” SueAnn Casper said. “The organization has been and will continue to be responsive to the needs of the community.”
To view the directory, visit