The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, recently announced the recipients of its 18th annual Young Women of Distinction Awards.
The scholarship program supports the council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.
The 2017 Young Women of Distinction honorees are Claire Vega Calkins, of Pittsford Sutherland High School; Amy Faville, of Avon HS; Cassandra Jones, of Gates-Chili HS; and Olivia Spenard, of School of the Arts.
The four top recipients — one each from Rochester City School District, Monroe County east, Monroe County west and the eight regional counties surrounding Monroe County — receive a $2,000 scholarship and an opportunity for a paid internship at an area company.
Other finalists this year included Olivia Brumfield, of Caledonia-Mumford HS; Dursitu Duresso, of Joseph C. Wilson Magnet HS; Brooke Fisher, of Churchville-Chili Senior HS; Erykah Yasmine Kangbeya, of Allendale Columbia School; Meghan Keyes, of Our Lady of Mercy School for Young Women; Paige Koss, of Hilton HS; Natalie Ann Neamtu, of Webster Thomas HS; Elizabeth Piedmont, of Batavia HS; Alexandria Reppi, of North Rose-Wolcott HS; Eliza Sherman, of Pittsford Mendon HS; Gabrielle Silverstein, of Honeoye Falls-Lima HS; Erika Tillotson, of Victor Senior HS: Stephanie Train, of Greece Athena HS; McKenna Uzelac, of Penfield HS; Emily Welch, of Wayne Central School District; and Megan Yawman, of Fairport HS.
Modeled after the Athena Award, the Young Women of Distinction program is designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence and involvement in the nine-county Rochester and Finger Lakes region.
“This year’s class of finalists, as in years past, represents an elite group of young women, and the successes of our four recipients highlight what outstanding young leadership looks like,” said Wende Knapp, president of the Women’s Council. “All of these young women provide incredible hope for the future of our community both locally and globally, and the Women’s Council is honored to further its mission by recognizing and empowering these future leaders as they begin their professional journey.”
This year’s Young Women of Distinction awards reception keynote speakers were 2017 Athena Award recipient Nannette Nocon and 2017 Athena Young Professional Award recipient Melisza Campos.
For information, visit