State troopers will be keeping an eye out for speeders and reckless drivers during the Speed Week enforcement campaign, which continues through Tuesday.
State troopers are conducting a week-long enforcement initiative to crack down on speeding and aggressive drivers across the state.
The Speed Week campaign runs through the weekend and ends Tuesday (although that’s not a license to resume speeding afterward).
During the June 2016 Speed Week campaign, troopers issued more than 21,000 traffic tickets. More than 10,000 of the tickets were for speeding, more than 600 were for distracted driving, and more than 200 were for violations of the Move Over law.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo, stating the obvious but also sadly, stating something that has to be repeated regularly, offered this in announcing the campaign.
"Speeding and reckless driving puts everyone on the road at risk and this dangerous behavior will not be tolerated in New York," Cuomo said.
Troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement vehicles as part of the operation. The CITE vehicles allow troopers to more easily identify motorists who are violating laws while driving.
These vehicles blend in with everyday traffic but are unmistakable as emergency vehicles once the emergency lighting is activated.
Speeding is listed as a contributing factor in nearly one third of all fatal crashes in New York. More than 42,000 people die as the result of traffic crashes each year on the nation's highways and hundreds of thousands are seriously injured. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for people ages 3 to 33.
Speeding by all vehicle types, as well as other traffic violations, will be heavily enforced throughout the week in addition to normal year-round enforcement. Troopers also will be watching for other traffic violations, including distracted or impaired drivers, vehicle occupants who are not properly buckled up, and drivers who are violating New York’s Move Over law.
If the threat of death or serious injury is not enough of an incentive to drive safely, perhaps the following will help motorists obey the rules of the road.
Fines for speeding on 55 mph highway or posted 65 mph zones
10 mph or less over the limit: minimum $45/maximum $150
11 to 30 mph over the limit: minimum $90/maximum $300
31 mph or more over the limit: minimum $180/maximum $600
10 mph or less over the limit: minimum $45/maximum $300
11 to 30 over the limit: minimum $90 /maximum $450
31 or more over the limit: minimum $180/maximum $750
10 mph or less over the limit: minimum $45/maximum $525
11 to 30 over the limit: minimum $90 /maximum $675
31 or more over the limit: minimum $180/maximum $975
Town or village courts: $93
Other courts (city traffic courts, etc.): $88
Violation Point Structure
1 to 10 mph over limit = 3 points
11 to 20 mph over limit = 4 points
21 to 30 mph over limit = 6 points
30 to 40 mph over limit = 8 points
More than 40 mph over limit = 11 points (triggers suspension)
Funding for the Speed Week initiative is provided through a grant from the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee.
Lane Ranger is a weekly column that runs Saturdays in the Daily Messenger exploring answers and solutions to the road problems shared by our readers. If you have questions or observations or just wish to sound off on your commute, send your comments to email@example.com or call 585-337-4264.