Brighton Memorial Library recently honored volunteers and staff at its annual dinner on May 18.
Library Board President Linda Rapkin and Executive Director Jennifer Ries-Taggart recognized the Library board of trustees, Friends of BML, library staff and volunteers who play roles in making the library a vital community resource.
To acknowledge their dedication and express its gratitude, BML awarded five year service pins to volunteers Maxine Bittker and Ira Schulman for five years; Nancy O’Mara and Harriett Siegel for 10 years; and Barbara Festenstein for 20 years.
Jack Geier was awarded a certificate for 27 years of volunteer service. Geier served as chairman of the Friends Book Sale Committee; president of the Friends of Brighton Memorial Library; and chairman of the Alice Wilson Teen Literary Awards Contest. He has represented BML Friends at the Monroe County Friends Council, served as friends liaison to the BML board of trustees and has been an active library advocate since the BML Expansion Campaign from 1994-97. In 2002, Geier received the BML Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service.
Nina Bansal was the recipient of the Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service. As a Partners in Reading for Seniors volunteer for eight years, she initiated and facilitated a monthly film viewing and discussion group for residents of The Hawthorne at St. John’s Meadows.
The Mary Lee McCaffrey Commemorative Award for Excellence in Service was established in 1996 to recognize a staff member who has made an outstanding contribution to the library. The award is given in memory of Mary Lee who worked at BML for over 16 years as children’s librarian and media services librarian. This year, the award went to Dominick Sanna.
The library’s guest speaker was Erie Canal historian Thomas Grasso, who spoke about the importance of the canal to the state and local history.
Brighton Town Supervisor Bill Moehle recognized the award winners, staff, friends and volunteers for the work they do for the library and the library for its leadership and its contribution and attentiveness to the community.