Rochester Music Hall of Fame announced its five Class of 2018 inductees: John Beck, Campbell Brothers, Steve Gadd, Tony Levin and Ferdinand Smith.
Beck is a percussionist, composer and a 60-year Eastman School of Music faculty member, where he serves as professor emeritus of percussion.
Campbell Brothers are known for their sacred steel music.
Gadd, a drummer, previously toured with artists including Paul Simon, James Taylor and Eric Clapton.
Levin is a bassist in the Peter Gabriel Band, King Crimson and Stick Men.
Smith is an Emmy-nominated composer and former DJ and manager.
During a press event, RMHF board members unveiled photos as the inductee names were announced and their music and legacies shared. The board also announced guest artists who will perform during the induction ceremony at 7 p.m. on April 22 at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre, 26 Gibbs St., Rochester. Prime Time Funk will return as the ceremony’s house band.
The all-volunteer board modeled this event after other music awards shows, such as the Kennedy Center Honors, Grammy Awards and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.
The past six ceremonies drew near sell-out crowds. Admission costs $25-$70. Tickets are available by phone at (585) 454-2100, online at or at Eastman Theatre Box Office, 433 E. Main St., Rochester. Visit for information.
“Rochester has a rich and diverse musical heritage, and those being honored deserve the best possible representation,” said Karl LaPorta, president of the RMHF board of directors. “The audiences have been amazed at the show that is put on and the shared musical experience is intensely entertaining.”
LaPorta will step down as president in June after seven years of volunteer service. It was his “Speaking Out” essay in 2009 that sparked the idea for the creation of a Rochester Music Hall of Fame. LaPorta gathered together a group of people who are passionate about music and shared his vision.
The first induction ceremony took place on April 29, 2012. To date, six ceremonies honored and celebrated the music of 38 inductees, and were enjoyed by a collective audience of more than 10,000 at Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre.
“Our community and the Rochester music scene are so fortunate that Karl dared to make his dream a reality,” said President-elect Jack Whittier, who served as vice president since the organization’s inception. “Through Karl’s exemplary leadership over the past nine years, the Rochester Music Hall of Fame induction night is one of the hottest tickets in town.”