Send your college student’s dean’s list announcements and other achievements to


Thomas Conroy, Gillian Kurtic and Zach Sechrist, of Rochester, received scholarships for the 2017-18 academic year at Clarkson University in Potsdam. Conroy, a senior electrical engineering major, received the Richard C. '55 and Joy M. Dorf Endowed Scholarship. Kurtic, a freshman engineering and management student, received the John '66 and Marianne Buyers Sponsored Scholarship and Theodore Sr. and Wanda McWharf Endowed Scholarship. Sechrist, a freshman biomolecular science student, received the Anthony J. Palumbo, MD '60 and Phyllis A. Palumbo Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Endowed Scholarship.

Justine Hu, of Rochester, earned the fall 2017 dean’s award for academic excellence at Colgate University in Hamilton. To be eligible, students must complete at least three courses and earn a minimum 3.3 term GPA. Hu studies international relations.

Brittany Graham, Sara Halpin, Jenny Lana and Judith Travis, of Rochester, were named to the fall 2017 dean’s list at Medaille College in Buffalo. To be eligible, students must complete at least 12 credit hours and earn a minimum 3.5 semester GPA.

Vanessa L’Abbate, of Rochester, recently joined 15 students in Rochester Institute of Technology’s intro to environmental studies course in publishing their essays online in Orion Magazine’s “The Place Where You Live” section. Students were encouraged to write about their hometown, they house in which they grew up or some other aspect of the place that means the most to them.