I recently joined my colleagues for a press conference that outlined a plan that would would shift Medicaid costs from New York’s counties back to the state government.
Currently, New York is the only state in the country that makes counties, and not the state, responsible for Medicaid costs.
This plan is an exciting step as we work to bring New York state out of a financial crisis and back into fiscal stability. Gov. Cuomo is dodging this idea like the plague, because he knows when these costs get put back on the state’s balance sheet it’s bad news for the tax-and-spend king. As the only state in the nation to force counties to pick up the tab for Medicaid costs, this move is a no-brainer to anyone looking to bring down the high tax bill New Yorkers pay every year.
The state’s counties currently pick up 13 percent of the total cost of Medicaid, and estimates suggest this plan could save counties $2.3 billion a year in taxes. According to a 2017 report by the Empire Center, an independent, nonpartisan research organization, the amendment would save Livingston County $9,539,179, Wayne County $14,534,805, Steuben County $20,077,343 and Monroe County $184,837,175.
Components of the Assembly Minority’s structural change to the Medicaid program include state takeover of the local share of Medicaid outside of New York City; takeover of the local share of Medicaid for counties outside of NYC over a 10-year period; require the state to assume the local share of Medicaid costs, over multiple years, to allow the state time to make structural changes that do not reduce services to the overall cost of the program; require all local savings realized from the program to be passed on directly to property taxpayers; state takeover of 50 percent of New York City’s Medicaid costs; take over 50 percent of the city’s Medicaid costs over a 20-year period; and require all local savings realized from the program to be passed on directly to taxpayers.
Errigo represents the 133rd District, which consists of Livingston and parts of Steuben and Monroe counties. Visit bit.ly/2FIonvV for information.