Top student presenters from Monroe Community College’s 10th annual Scholars’ Day competition were announced at a celebratory luncheon at the college’s Brighton Campus on April 16.
Thirty-one students received Monroe Community College Foundation scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $2,000 for research presentations. The scholarships were presented by college leaders and benefactors, and special guests Kiva co-founder Jessica Jackley and author and scholar Reza Aslan.
More than 100 students presented research at Scholars’ Day events at the downtown and Brighton campuses April 11 and 14, respectively. Research topics represented a variety of academic disciplines, including the humanities, science, engineering and social science. Students build valuable research and presentation skills through the experience. MCC faculty served as judges.
MCC winners in the humanities category are first place, William Kusmierek, “Redefining the Other through Performance Art: VB46 as Representational Dialogue”; second place, Mark Huerta, “Philosophy or Rhetoric? How Teaching Students about Metacognition Leads to More Ethical Leaders”; and third place Rachel Sheehan, “Disability and the Digital Divide: The Impact of Design on Web Accessibility.”
MCC winners in the science category are first place Wayne D. Howard, “Phycocyanin Detection Using Landsat TM Imagery for the Nearshore of Lake Ontario, Using Methodology Developed for the Early Detection of Cyanobacteria in Maumee Bay, Ohio”; first place, Jennifer Baker, “Using Evidence-Based Periodontal Risk Assessments”; and third place, Thanh Ho, “The Best Strategy for Solving a Matching Problem.”
MCC winners in the engineering category are first place Greyson Chudyk, Yaroslav Kifor, John Arnold and Patrick Chernjavsky, “Student Unmanned Aerial Systems: MCC Drone Design Team”; first place Kaiya Li, Alex Ketavongsa, Phat Vo and Zhou Chi, “Economical and Practical UAV”; second place Maria Isabel Alexander Rodriguez, “Validation of the Horizontal Reactive Media Treatment (HRX™) Well for in situ Groundwater Treatment”; third place, Christopher Waite, Riley White, Nick Quattrociocchi and Thomas Papaleo, “WITBA UAV Quadcopter 3.0”; and third place, Kara Dobrzynski, Mike Vasilik, Gabby Reid and Jonathon Dalheim, “Maximum Altitude for High-Powered Rockets.”
MCC winners in the social science category are first place, Angela Marie Vargas, “Children and Domestic Violence: Risk, Resilience, and Resources”; second place, Isabelle Collier, “Homeschooling’s Effect on Socialization: What we Risk When Research Fails Us”; second place, Madison Van Edwards, “Survival Sex and Consent: The Harmful Legal Distinction Between Sex Trafficking Victims and Prostitutes in New York State Law”; second place, Carlye Jones, “Tribes Pay the Cost”; and third place, Hannah Dworsky, Emily Arendt, Nivia Britt and Jewell Freeman, “Increasing Retention Rates for Non-traditional Students: Showcasing Resources,”
Scholars’ Day 2018 was made possible through support from keynote presenting sponsor, the ESL Charitable Foundation, as well as support from the Xerox Foundation and local philanthropists through the MCC Foundation.