The Federation of Social Workers will present its 2018 Human Service Worker of the Year awards at a luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on Nov. 2 at the Joseph A. Floreano Rochester Riverside Convention Center, 123 E. Main St.
Hilda Rosario Escher and James Norman will receive awards for human service worker lifetime achievement.
Escher will leave her position as president and CEO of the Ibero-American Action League at the end of this year. She previously served as Ibero’s directors of day care services, foster care services and developmental disability services.
Escher grew the division for developmental disabilities budget from $350,000 to $7 million, launched the first upstate 24-hour Latino radio station and increased scholarship opportunities for high school students from eight to 86.
Norman retired as CEO of Action for a Better Community after 25 years in that position. During his tenure and under his leadership, ABC expanded and improved the programs and services it offers to the Rochester community. He volunteers with several local organizations.
The luncheon will honor other human service contributors in the community.
The Human Service Worker of the Year Award will go to Johanna Lockemeyer, who works at Monroe Community Hospital, for the public sector and Veronica Black Turner, of Children Awaiting Parents, for the private sector.
John Prewasnicak will receive the John L. Seebach Volunteer of the Year Award for his involvement with the Special Olympics.
FSW will recognize Outreach Community Center as its community nonprofit organization of the year.
The Courage Award will go to Maria Fisher.
ESL Federal Credit Union will receive the award for corporate human service contributor of the year.
The award for human service family of the year will go to Alicia and Josh Dougherty and their children.
Maeve Reed will receive the Next Generation Contributor Award, which honors human service efforts by someone age 18 or younger.
Katie Barone, who works in Monroe County Child Protective Services, will receive the Bertina Forde Rising Star Award. This award is given for exceptional contributions in the public sector by individuals with less than two years of experience.
Visit for information.