The Pittsford S’Women had new challenges this season to keep their winning streak alive after losing six seniors in 2017.
With the coaching of Marty Keating and overall team effort, they remained victorious with their 17th Section V Class A title on Nov. 3. The S’Women started the week with the points from divers Lara Phipps, who was third place, and eighth-graders Kate Cooper and Carmen Kendall at fifth and ninth place respectfully. The team was led by first-place finishes by Megan Deuel in the 100-yard fly and back and Molly Brennan in the 200- and 500-yard free.
Sophomore Sarah Cooper won her first sectional title in the 100-yard breast and second place in 100-yard fly. They were supported by juniors Lauren Romanick who had fourth place in the 200 individual medley and seventh place in 100-yard fly, Meghan Corby had a sixth-place finish in the 200 and 500 free, and Anne Kealy placed fourth in the fly and eighth in the 50 free.
Sophomores, Annie Ritter, Ellie VanHouten, Katherine Huang and Alyssa James had best times of the year. Ritter was fifth and fourth place in the 50 free and 100 back, Ellie placed 12th and 14th in her free events, Katherine Huang placed 11th in the individual medley, and Alyssa James placed 11th in the back. Freshmen Linnea Braun was third in 100 back and 11th in 100 free, Nora Smillie placed fourth in the 50 and ninth in 100 free, Paige Romanick placed eighth in 200 individual medley and 11th in 500 free, and Grace Bennett placed 16th in the individual medley and breast.
Eighth-graders Iala Cropper was fifth in 100 breast, and Nakai Chinogwanya was 10th and 13th in the 100 and 200 free.
The medley relay of Linnea Braun, Cooper, Deuel and Nora Smillie was first place. The 200 free relay of Brennan, Annie Ritter, Smillie and Romanick was second place. The 400-yard free relay of Megan Corby, Cooper, Brennan and Deuel finished the meet with first place. This year, the S’Women will sent returning swimmers of Brennan, Deuel, Linnea Braun, Sarah Cooper, Annie Ritter with the addition of new state swimmers of Lauren Romanick, Anne Kealy and Nora Smillie and diver Lara Phipps to the NYSPHAA meet on Nov. 17.