The Rochester Engineering Society named Donald Nims and Brett Eliasz Engineer of the Year and Kate Gleason Young Engineer of Year, respectively, to be honored at their 117th annual gala.
Eliasz and Nims work for national architecture, engineering and planning firm Bergmann in the Rochester office. Nims is the principal and practice leader of the hydropower group in the Northeast Infrastructure Division. Eliasz is the electrical discipline practice leader in the Northeast Buildings Division.
The Engineer of the Year award is presented each spring to a professional to recognize outstanding achievement and contributions to the profession in the Rochester region. Honorees must also promote the importance of engineering practices to society. The Kate Gleason Young Engineer of the Year award acknowledges an outstanding engineer. This award is presented to a professional who has a strong record of engineering achievement and demonstrates exceptional, positive impact upon the profession.
Nims, a graduate of Clarkson University, has been practicing for nearly 40 years. His roles have included construction engineer, design engineer, project engineer, project manager and business leader for dam, highway, bridge and historic lock restoration projects. Nims currently leads the hydropower practice for Bergmann, where he is focused on expanding the services offered nationally. Nims led a signature project to restore the Flight of Five locks on the Erie Canal, helping to transform the city of Lockport near Buffalo.
Eliasz, a State University of New York at Buffalo graduate, has 15 years of experience in the design of electrical power distribution, lighting, life safety and specialty systems for commercial and industrial systems. A certified professional engineer in 12 states, Eliasz and his team have worked on acclaimed projects such as the Rochester Regional Transit Center and the restoration of Hayes Hall at the University at Buffalo. Eliasz also collaborated on the recently unveiled specialty exterior lighting for the new Kodak Center Theater.