The Hilton Central School District Board of Education adopted an $80,891,334 budget proposal for the 2019-20 school year at its regular meeting April 9.
This is a 1.80% decrease from 2018’s budget, which, if approved by voters, will result in an estimated 1.72% tax rate increase in Greece and Parma, a 6.42% decrease in Clarkson due to the town’s equalization rate increasing from 92% to 100%; and a 0.24% decrease in Hamlin due to the town’s equalization rate decreasing from 100% to 93%. A home in the Hilton School District valued at $100,000 will see an estimated tax bill increase of $39.
“Every year’s budget development cycle poses different challenges for the district. I appreciate all of the stakeholder’s efforts during the process,” said Casey Kosiorek, superintendent of schools. “Our proposed spending plan is a result of assessment and reallocation of resources to meet our students’ needs. This budget is responsible to taxpayers and maintains quality staffing and programming that align with our Strategic Plan.”
The proposed property tax levy increase is 3.49%, which is under the state imposed property tax levy cap of 3.87%, and therefore qualifies Hilton School District residents for a property tax relief credit.
Details of the budget will be available at at — the Hilton District website. A budget newsletter will be mailed to residents in May and a list of budget presentations is posted on the website.
On May 21, district residents can vote on the budget proposition as well as a $1,044,600 bus purchase proposition, a proposition to establish a capital reserve fund, and three open positions on the board of education. Voters will select three board members to serve three-year terms. The terms of Michelle Ames, Mark Hilburger and Nancy Pickering, will expire June 30.
Polls located at Hilton High School, Parma, Clarkson and Hamlin residents; and Northwood Elementary School, Greece residents, will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Voters must be registered with the Monroe County Board of Elections or with District Clerk Julie Norris — (585) 392-1000, ext. 7099 — to vote on May 21. Handicapped-accessible parking is available.