Fourteen area law enforcement officers will be honored as 2019 Top Cops for their
professional efforts to contain a shooter, which as a result, saved lives.
The 26th annual Top Cops Awards were presented by the National Association of Police Organizations and held on May 12 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.
NAPO is a coalition of police unions and supports law enforcement officers in the U.S. and represents more than 1,000 police units and associations and more than 241,000 law enforcement officers.
The Top Cops Awards are nominated by fellow officers. The process includes an independent Awards Selection Committee who is made up of national law enforcement representatives. After looking at hundreds of nominations, the Committee selects one Top Cop case from each state and U.S. territory. Officers from the top ten cases are selected as Top Cops Award winners.
“We are extremely proud of the tremendous police work done by all of the officers who were involved with this violent, deadly and very dangerous situation. This recognition from their fellow union brothers and sisters is well-deserved,” said Rochester Police Locust Club President Michael Mazzeo. “We were honored to nominate our brothers for this award and very excited when we learned that NAPO had chosen them.”
Officers responded to a shooting report that turned into an extensive suspect chase as citizens feared for their well-being and gripped the city of Rochester at 9:40 a.m. on Oct. 10. Officers were able to secure the safety of citizens and the threatened family members of the shooter.
“Their display of unwavering courage saved lives that day. They are noblemen in a noble profession, and I applaud their mettle,” said interim Rochester Chief of Police La’Ron D. Singletary.
Local police officers who will be honored include: Sgt. Daniel Brochu, Sgt. Brian Phillips Sgt. Josh Lewis, Officer Thomas Deane III, Officer Jonathan Marsh, Officer Brandon Mandurano, Officer Ryan Hartley, Sgt. Tito Batson, Officer Jordan Bracey, Officer Richard Doran, Officer John Woicyk, Officer William Minks and Officer Harry Scorse, Rochester Police Department; and Deputy Paolo Saieva, Monroe County Sheriff’s Office.
“We are proud of Monroe County Sheriff’s Deputy Saieva, and all of the Rochester Police Officers who are being honored alongside Deputy Saieva, who, without hesitation, jumped into action the morning of October 10, 2018,” said Monroe County Sheriff Todd K. Baxter.
Visit for more information about the Top Cops Awards.