Annual football game benefits Camp Good Days and Special Times

The St. John Fisher College Cardinals and The College at Brockport Golden Eagles will play in the Camp Good Days Annual Courage Bowl, with all proceeds of the football game benefiting the children and families of Camp Good Days and Special Times.  

The Courage Bowl will be played on Saturday at Eunice Kennedy Shriver Stadium on Bob Boozer Field, with kickoff slated for 4 p.m.

This is the third time these teams meet as Empire 8 Conference rivals, and Courage Bowl XII will be broadcast live on Time Warner Cable SportsChannel and will be carried live on SportsRadio 950 ESPN and 89.1 The Point in Brockport.

The gates open at 3 p.m. and the National Anthem will be sung by Liz Kline. There also will be performances by the Color Guard andDownbeat Percussion, the official marching band of the Buffalo Bills at halftime. Tickets are available for a donation of $5.00 each and can be purchased at the game or online at the College at Brockport university ticket website. 

As part of The Courage Bowl, Camp Good Days selects young boys and girls who have been battling cancer to serve as Honorary Coaches and Cheerleaders for each team.  The Honorary Coaches for The College at Brockport are: Ronald Powell, Triniti Jefferds, and Jacob Quinn.  The Honorary Cheerleaders for The College at Brockport are: Jessica Richmond and Jaylin Parsons.

The Honorary Coaches for St. John Fisher College are: Nolan Redhead, Camren Wright, and Danny Bookhart.  The Honorary Cheerleaders for St. John Fisher College are: Emily Button, Haley Smith, and Margaret Riordan.  

On game night, the Honorary Coaches will join their teams in the locker room, take the field with the team, and will be at midfield for the coin toss, and the Honorary Cheerleaders will cheer on the sidelines for the duration of the game.

This year’s Annual Courage Award will be presented to two recipients: Brenden Fesinger, a Brockport football player and cancerous brain tumor survivor who didn’t let cancer stop him from playing the game he loves, and Phillip Chappel, who beginning his fifth course of treatment. 

The Courage Award was started in 2010 and is presented to those who display strength, courage, and determination in a time of great struggle.