Notable Names

Staff Writer
Monroe County Post
Roger Dube.

RIT professor receives Fulbright Fellowship

Roger Dube, a professor emeritus at Rochester Institute of Technology, recently received a Fulbright Fellowship. The fellowship will fund a project to increase retention of First Nations students in STEM higher education programs.

The project will take place at the University of Manitoba, where he is serving as a visiting indigenous scholar. It will build upon his previous work at RIT, where he was the principal investigator on an NSF-funded Research Experiences for Undergraduates.

The research will focus on enriching three components of the First Nations higher education experience: preparing prospective students for STEM study by engaging high schools and communities, providing peer support and mentoring for First Nations students, and establishing ongoing connections to tribal communities and traditions through service projects.

Harley senior wins UVA scholarship

Harley School senior Andrew Alexis, of Pittsford, recently was named among 32 recipients of the Jefferson Scholarship at the University of Virginia.

Alexis was selected from more than 2,000 nominated students by the Jefferson Scholars Foundation, and underwent a selection process that included remote interviews with UVA alumni and faculty.

The scholarship covers tuition for four years. Jefferson Scholars also benefit from programs such as travel abroad, career networking activities, an outdoor challenge program and a leadership speaker series.

At Harley, Alexis starred in school musicals, served as student body president and competed on various varsity teams.

Harvard-Radcliffe Club names essay winners

The Harvard-Radcliffe Club of Rochester recently recognized four winners in its annual essay contest for area high school students.

The topic was a quote from Susan B. Anthony, “Failure is Impossible.” Pittsford Sutherland senior Somayya Upala won first place and $250.

Jeishlamar Rojas, a senior at Young Women’s College Prep Charter School, won $100 for second place. Taking third place were Our Lady of Mercy juniors Rachel Gargan and Fiona Morris, who received $50 each.

Andrew Alexis.